Board of Directors

NOVA’s Board of Directors is composed of up to fifteen elected NOVA members committed to our mission. They each bring their expertise and knowledge to advance NOVA and improve the victim assistance field.

NOVA 2023 Board of Directors

Executive Board Members

Dr. Mamie M. Futrell, DSW, LCSW

 Board President

Owner, Futrell Counseling & Consulting, LLC, Delaware

Angela Seguin

Board Vice President

Executive Director, Delaware Domestic Violence Coordinating Council, Delaware

Thomas Ebyl


Senior Corporate Counsel, T-Mobile, Virginia

Steve Derene


Executive Director (Ret.), National Association of VOCA Assistance Administrators, Wisconsin

Jeannette Adkins, MEd, LPC, CA

Immediate Past President

Executive Director (Ret.), Michael’s House Child Advocacy Center/Greene Co. Prosecutor’s Office, Ohio

Elected Board Members

Carolina Yepez

SHARP Program Manager, US Army


Suzannah Rogan

Senior Training and Technical Assistance Specialist, Futures Without Violence

Washington, DC

Edna Ramirez

Victim Advocate, North Little Rock Police Department


Melany P. Nelson

Advocate For Knowledge


Paul Freeman

Victim Specialist, Federal Bureau of Investigation (Retired)

North Carolina

Elizabeth Cronin

Director, New York State Office of Victim Services

New York

Joél Junior Morales

Foundation Manager, Contigo Fund


Rosie Martinez

Victim Unit Director, Hidalgo County District Attorney’s Office


Laura Abbott

Founder, Victims’ Rights Arkansas


Advisory Board Members

Beth Rossman

Past Chairperson, Training Chair, Florida Crisis Response Team Inc., V.P. H&R Consulting, Florida

Shawn M. Cox

Victim Services Division of the Maricopa County Victim Attorney’s Office

Brandon Wolf

Equality, Florida

David R. Thomas

Program Manager II, International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), Virginia

D. Michael Sheline

Assistant Section Chief, Chief-Crime Victims Section, Office of Ohio Attorney General, Ohio

Brenda J. Muhammad

Executive Director, Atlanta Victim Assistance, Inc., Georgia

Michaelene O’Neill McCann

Attorney ADA and Chief Victim Witness Services (Ret.), Essex  District Attorney’s Office, Massachusetts

Barbara Kendall

Hon. Lois Haight-Harrington

Judge of Superior Court, California

John W. Gillis

Gillis Consulting Group LLC, Arizona

Hon. Collene Thompson Campbell

Darlene Hutchinson Biehl

Former Director, Office for Victims of Crime, Alabama

Rhonda S. Barner

Director (Ret.), Montgomery County Prosecutor’s Office Victim/Witness Division, Florida

Andy Yurick, J.D.

Law Offices of Andrew N. Yurick, New Jersey

Steve Twist

Founder, Arizona Voice for Crime Victims, Arizona

Safety Exit